Aged Tires A Driving Hazard

This Happened to Me in 2005
Aged Tires Warning

I was driving down interstate highway 10 just out of Lordsburg New Mexico at 70 mph on tires I thought were only 4 years old. All of a sudden there was a big bang and fiberglass tire rubber and smoke came from the front  passenger side of the 20,000 Lbs Motor home. I was struggling to maintain control and get off to the side of the freeway to Safety.I managed to pull over to the side of the freeway and stop.
The Damage was Extensive. Several Thousand $$$, It tore off the front passenger Fender and wheel well and scattered fiberglass, Tire Rubber and Parts of the Motor home for several hundred feet. I was Lucky, I found out later that the tires were 9 years old, But were purchased only 4 years before.

Do you know how Old Your Tires Are? Do you know how to Tell?

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in our Travel Trailer with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

