Trip to Texas Part 3

Well as promised here is Part 3 of our trip and adventure to Texas.  We were all settled in after fixing plugged black tanks, TV cable ends, Roof Leaks and other minor and not so minor things. I told the wife this is not going to do, this unit is 6 years old and starting to have some serious problems from sitting to Long without being used by the previous owners. It was time to start looking for another bigger unit, more suited to our needs. the little 25 ft 5th wheel was nice and compact but was a little on the small side after having a 38 ft class A. I had spotted a Flagstaff 30 ft 5th wheel at Crestview RV in Georgetown Texas That really caught my eye. It was a 2009 made by Forest River and was Ultra Lite so could be towed with my Ford F150 4WD.

What Caught my Eye

It had been sitting on the dealers lot since last winter and they wanted to move it really bad. It was hardly used and looked brand new. They were having a big thanksgiving sale. I got a decent price for my trade in and the price was right. I dickkered with the dealer and told them what I would do. and walked out. I told them when they were ready to deal to give me a call. Told them I was going to go to PPL in Houston Texas over the weekend as there was one there that I was interested in. this was on Tuesday. They called on Wednesday and asked if I would compromise. I told them no that I had made my offer and that 2011 was just around the corner and the unit would then be 2 years old and worth even less. They called on Friday and asked if my offer was still good. I said yes if they would close  the deal today. I got my deal.

We went up to the dealership on Monday and transfered all of our stuff from the old unit to the new one. and drove back to Berry Springs RV park which is just a couple of miles down the road from The Dealers. We have lived in it now for over a month, and I really like the unit. Especially the Bathroom with neo angle shower and the suround sound. And most of all the units light weight. The only fault that I have with it is the slideout wardrobe in the bedroom. It really makes the bed hard to make, But the bed is a true queen size 60W x 80L instead of one those Puny rv queens made for midgets. Forest River is one of the few Manufacturers that puts real queen size beds in there RV units. I have made a few modifications to the 5th wheel but will save that for part 4. We are now on our way back to Yuma Arizona to our winter home. The 5th wheel has towed behind my Ford F150 4X4 with 5.4L V8 Like a dream with The fivers moreride torison suspention instead of leaf springs. 2 days of driving with a overnight in Van Horn Texas and now tied up tonight in Deming New Mexico. We will go to Benson Arizona tomorrow and spend a few days with friends before going on to Yuma.

Stay tuned for part 4 after I get to Yuma.
Mel

Click the link below to see pictures of the 5th wheel that we bought

http://picasaweb.google.com/mel.pctech/Flagstaff5thWheel?authkey=Gv1sRgCPaaka76tO2I1gE# or click here

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

