Almost Totaled My 5th Wheel

It was the 5th of June and after a weekend of relaxing at a High Mountain Campground in Northern Nevada (8000 ft elevation). We were packed up and started to head home. It was on a Steep Sharp Narrow Curve where someone had placed in the middle of the Road, a Large A frame with a yellow Diamond shaped Sign in the center of it. I swung to sharp to the left to avoid hitting the Sign, and while I was distracted, I got to far over off the left side of the road, hitting a large 2000 Lb Plus boulder just ahead of the axles on the 5th wheel and into some trees. This caused considerable damage to the 5th wheel and broke the springs on the front Axle. The Trees gouged a hole in the side near the top and tore off the Awning on the Slide.

After survaying the Damaged I assertained that the 5th wheel could be moved a few hundred feet to a safe parking place. I then called Good Sam ERS (Emergancy Road Service) and after several hours was able to get a couple of service people to come out and bring a spring so the 5th wheel could be towed to the closest RV repair facility. I might add that Good Sam ERS was very helpful in rendering assistanse and getting me help with the problem. I always carry their ERS insurance. It is well worth the money if you have a Breakdown or Emergancy.

The only saving grace was the fact that I was going slow, No one was hurt and the boulder kept the 5th wheel from going over the edge. It has been over 7 weeks now and my 5th wheel has still not been fixed, But that is another story, which I will write about in the next day or so.

Mel

 

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in our Travel Trailer with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

