Upset With Jayco Parts Policy

Like the title of this Blog Post says. I am Upset with the Jayco RV Manufacturer over their Parts Policy. Read on to Learn Why. In a Previous post I told how I had damaged my 5th wheel in a accident on June 5th 2011. I had my 5th wheel towed to the nearest RV repair Facility which was about 45 miles away. The nearest Jayco Dealer was almost 400 miles away. The RV Repair Facility was a Idependent RV Repair Facility and the closest one who could do the repairs. My insurance company is Good Sam GMAC. I told the independent RV Repair Shop to make a estimate of repairs and parts cost to the insurance company. 3 weeks later
I was informed that they could not get parts or prices from Jayco to repair my 5th wheel.
I could not believe this so I contacted Jayco and was informed that Only authorized Jayco Dealers could get parts from the Jayco Factory and that parts and prices would have to be obtained from a Jayco Dealer. I called my insurance company and explained the situation. They told me that they had a preferred Repair Facility that was a Jayco Dealer in SLC Utah and that they would gurantee repairs to my 5th wheel if I took it there. I went to the Independent dealer and picked up my 5th wheel and brought it to my summer home in Nevada. I called my insurance company and told them that I had the 5th wheel at my summer home which is 200 plus miles to a Jayco Dealer in SLC Utah. My 5th wheel is based out of and Registered in Arizona, 700 miles away. My insurance company told me they would send a damage appraiser out to look at my 5th wheel. I did not want the Expence to take it to SLC Utah, if they were going to total it out. By this time it was July and the insurance company damage appraiser showed up and took pictures and noted all of the damage.
10 days later I called the insurance company and asked what was the hold up. They were waiting on the Damage appraisers report. I called the appraiser and he told me that Jayco would not give him parts prices. He said he even asked them to give him the full retail price of the parts with the dealers mark up so he could send his report to the insurance company. I said to hell with this, and told the insurance company that I was taking my 5th wheel to Their prferred Jayco repair Facility in SLC Utah. I took my 5th wheel to Ardell Brown in Draper Utah a suburb of SLC. The collision manager was very nice and they started a estimate of repairs right away. I was impressed with the facilities and they showed me some of the units that were being repaired. Some of them had worse damage than mine. They appeared to do good work and the insurance company will guarantee the repairs. I drove back to Nevada that night. The next morning the repair shop called and wanted my permission to take the belly off of the 5th wheel to check the tanks for damage. I told them to go ahead and get strated on repairs.
I called my insurance company, 12 days later to see how things were going. I was informed that they were waiting on the repair estimate from Ardell Brown RV. I called the shop and talked to the manager and asked what the hold up was. I was informed that they found other damage and were having a problem getting parts prices from Jayco. What a Shitty Crappy deal. I have been without the use of my 5th wheel now for over 7 weeks and all because of Jayco’s crappy parts policy. You can rest assured that I probably will never buy another Jayco Product. If my 5th wheel is not repaired in another month I will trade the damn thing off and get a Forest River or some brand other than Jayco. It is a shame that Jayco has such a crappy parts policy when a Idependent RV repair Facility and some of their own dealers and insurance adjusters can’t get parts prices from them….
Here is Jayso’s parts policy, taken from their web site:
[quote] How can I obtain Jayco parts? 
Parts for Jayco recreation vehicles are distributed exclusively by authorized Jayco dealers. For the Jayco dealer nearest you, log on to www.jayco.com and click on “Dealer Locator,” or call 1 800-RVJAYCO. Always have the vehicle identification number when you call your dealer for parts. The dealer cannot order parts without that number. [/quote]

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

1 thought on “Upset With Jayco Parts Policy”

  1. I just like the valuable info you provide to your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at again here regularly. I’m moderately certain I will be told many new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

