Copper Thieves and your RV

When I first picked up my Latest RV, a Jayco Designer 5th wheel. I was told by the sales RV Power Cableperson who was doing the walk through with me, that I should find some way of securing the 50 amp power cord. I said well it has a screw on connection to the RV isn’t that secure enough to keep it from coming unplugged? He said no, that is not what I am talking about. I looked kind of puzzled and he continued to explain. He said that their RV lot had been hit 4 times by Copper Thieves, who stole the Power Cord from RV’s for the copper. He said that my particular heavy duty 50 amp cord cost about $400 to replace. I had not thought of my power cord being stolen before he mentioned it. He told me that he chains his power cord to his RV when ever he is gone from his site. I don’t know how he secures it and I guess that a copper thieves could always use a hack saw to cut the cable. I don’t think a thief would go to the trouble in a RV Park as it would be to easy to get caught. But on a dealers lot it could be another story. I read an article this morning where thieves had used hack saws to cut power cords that were secured on dealers lots in Tenn.

It brought back a memory of a time when we were staying in a Commercial RV park in Idaho. We had to dump our tanks and left our site leaving the chairs, Mat, Water hose, and power cable at our site, while we went to dump our tanks a few miles away. When we returned our power cable was gone. Nothing else had been taken. I though that maybe another RVer had taken it for whatever reason. Now that I reflect back, we were in a seedy section of town and there were several derlicks and homeless people not to far from the RV Park and no security. I would almost bet that whoever stole the power cord took it for the copper. There were several scrap metal salvage yards within a short distance.

Unless we are in a secure RV Park. I unhook my power cord and lock it up if we are going to be gone for the day away from our RV. My RV is being repaired right now and the dealership is 200 plus miles away. I took most everything out of the fiver befor taking it there to be repaired. I locked everything in my garage. Thieves like to Hit RV sales Lots and RVs stored or awaiting repairs on a dealers lot. to steal the electronics and other things. It’s better to be safe than sorry.

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

1 thought on “Copper Thieves and your RV”

  1. I had my Motor Home power cord taken by thieves while my motor home was stored in a storage yard. They pulled the cord from the storage compartment and cut it from the junction box. The compartment had been forced open.
    J A

Leave a Reply

