Review of Winegard MP-1 Portable Satalite

I got my MP-1 Last November 2010 and did not get a chance to use it until This year when we made a trip to Texas. I reread the instruction manual and decided to give it a try. 1st off I went to a home depot store and bought a 35 Lb Bag of clean Playbox Sand. I then filled the mp-1 top section with the sand instead of water. I set the unit on the Patio Concrete Slab in the RV park where we are staying.

MP-1 Portable Satalite
MP-1 Portable Satalite

With the sand in the unit it was very stable and I was able to level the unit with the built in Level Bubble. I got my azmuth and Elevation Settings from the TV. I oriented The built in compass and then turned the unit on and set the Elevation to 55 and then turned the dish towards the south at 183 Deg. I then turned the unit on and checked the Signal strenth using the TV. I could hear  the beep beep of the signal meter through the window of the 5th wheel. I slowly turned the antenna a few degrees at a time and would stop and wait a few seconds listening for a rapid change in the Beeps. When I got a rapid Beeping sound I went and checked the signal strenth on all satalite transponders. several where 99 and a couple were 100. I choose Transponder 20 and locked the settings in. I have to say that this is the only time I have ever gotten a signal strenth of 100 or 99. I have used the unit for a month now and it has rained on it and several high wind conditions. I checked my signal strenth and it is 99. I am pleased with the unit. It can also be used with dish Network, Bell, and Direct TV. I am using it with direct TV, but will probably switch to Dish at the end of the year. I bought the unit at Camping World Last year. I see they are on sale for $154 this year. The unit was easy to set up and worked better than an awkward tripod setup that I was using before.

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

