Are RV Parts Cheaper Online, Not Always

When Looking for RV Parts I usually go Online unless I am in a hurry for the part that I need. Many Times the Local RV Stores have to order what I need and cost more money than the same Item purchased online including shipping. Sometimes it is a proprietary Item and hard to find or in some cases has to be ordered through the RV Dealer. I found this out with parts for my Jayco 5th wheel. The other day I needed some gas filled lift struts for the king bed in my 07 Jayco Designer. They had gotten weak over the years and would not hold the bed up anymore when I needed to get something from underneath it. So I went to the Internet and did a search using the brand name and parts number on the struts. I found several replacement types ranging in price from $15 each to as high as $25 each for replacement types. The OEM types Where even Higher. I was all set to order a pair for $12.95 each and $9 shipping. We had to go to town for some other Items and since we had to go by one of the RV stores on our way. I decided to stop and see if the had the struts that I needed and the price. Well low and behold they had the OEM struts with the part number that I needed for $10 each and sales tax. It was cheaper at the RV parts store than ordering on the internet, even with sales tax and they had them in stock. 

I needed some Gas filled lift struts for the hood of my 02 model car because they were weak and would not hold the hood up so I could check the oil. I went to local parts stores and none of them had what I needed. I went to the car dealership and they could order them for about $45 Each. I decided to go online and look for them. I found a pair of OEM ones New Online for $34 including shipping at amazon. Got them in 3 days. So I guess you never know unless you check the internet and your local stores. I try to buy locally even if the price is a few dollars more, But when the price is a lot higher for the same identical item I go to the Internet stores.

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in our Travel Trailer with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

