Nevada’s Loneliest Road

I had a reader of my Blog asking me about the Loneliest Road somewhere in Nevada. She had read a story about someone in a RV being stranded out in the middle of nowhere. She asked if I had ever been in that predicament and if it was fun or scary. Since Nevada is my home state I guess I can comment on it for her. There is a Highway in Nevada called the Loneliest Road in America. It is Highway 50 spanning the state from Between Lake Tahoe in the west and Great Basin National Park on the East at the Utah border, US-50 crosses more than 400 miles of Nevada’s Scenic country, climbing up and over a dozen mountain ranges while passing through four mining towns and the state capital, at Carson City. It parallels the old Pony Express route.

I have traveled it many times in an RV and a Passenger car. The towns are few and far between. But it is not as bad as it was 20 or so years ago. Getting help might require a 3 or 4 hour wait, But someone will come along eventually. I did have a breakdown one time back in the early 60’s in a car and finally got a ride into a small town after being stranded all night. I was able to Get some gas from a farmer who got it out of his tractor and filled a gallon glass jug. I talked him into taking me back out to my car where I put in the gallon of Gas. I barely managed to get back to the town on the Gallon of gas and was able to obtain enough gas to get to a town that had a gas station. Yes it was a very lonely road back then.

Another time Towing a Trailer Between Needles California and Searchlight Nevada I had a Blowout on the trailer. It was starting to get dark and raining. I was near a call box so called Good Sam ERS (Emergency Road Service) Who informed me that they did not cover a small utility trailer for atv’s. Anyway no help there, and that is another story. Finally around Midnight a Ranger with the Homeland Security stopped and Helped me change the tire and got me on the road. I am forever grateful to him as I was wet tired and cold from standing in the rain for over 3 hours trying to get someone to stop. All I needed was a lug wrench as the one I had would not fit.

Scary No, Funny Well Like all things in Rving you learn to Laugh and take the little upsets in stride. Being retired I have no deadlines or have to get back to work to worry about. Besides when you are my age You learn to laugh and enjoy life, or at least you should .

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

