RV Tires Three Out of Five Bad! Made in USA.

I have Preached for a long time to Change tires on a RV when they are 5 years old. I know that it is expensive, But it is cheap insurance against disaster. On a recent trip to Ogden Utah, we encountered tire problems on our return 235 mile trip to Wells Nevada where we spend the summer. I had added 15 Lbs of air to one of the tires that was low on my Jayco Designer 5th wheel. I was a little hesitant about starting the return trip without having the tire checked for leaks. I was in a hurry and late for an appointment in Draper Utah, 58 miles from Ogden. I wanted to be there early, so we could get some work done to the 5th wheel and be on our way.

I Got to the dealers just before they opened and 4 hours later we were on our way. We stopped at Lake point about 45 miles from Draper and had lunch. Tires all looked fine. I had a uneasy feeling as we went west on I-80, and kept looking in the drivers side mirror at the tire I had put air in that morning. About halfway between Lake Point and Wendover Utah, I noticed that the tire looked like it was low on air. I pulled into a rest area and the tire was almost flat. I changed the tire. when I took the tire off I noticed a part of the side wall was gone on the backside of the tire, it would not have been visible, unless you crawled under the trailer and looked at the backside of the tire. I put the spare tire on and headed on down the Interstate, thanking my lucky stars that I hadn’t had a blowout. We arrived in Wells Nevada Safe and Sound around 5:00 PM.

The Next Morning I debated replacing all of the tires or just the one tire that was bad. I have always advocated changing tires every five years no matter how good they looked. I am sure glad I decided to replace all of them except the one I kept for a spare. Three of the tires were bad with bulges and bubbles in them all on the backside of the tires. The spare tire had never been on the ground or in the sun, so I kept it for a spare and replaced the other four tires. All of the tires were Goodyear Marathon (Made in the USA) stamped right on the side wall of each tire. They were 5 years old.

I replaced all four tires on the 5th wheel with Power King Tow Max STR 235/80R16 tires with Load range E, instead of the Marathon 235/80R16 Load range D’s. 80 Lbs PSI instead of 65 Lbs PSI It might be worth noting that many of the new RV’s are using the Power King Tires. Time will tell how good they are. I will be replacing them at 5 years of age. All of the New tires have a date code of 1212 the 12th week of 2012 which would be March of 2012. I have never had problems with china made tires. I have had Carlyle, Double Coin, Hankook, and others. The one China Made Tire failure was a Carlyle on a overloaded utility trailer and 70 MPH on a underinflated tire.

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

