5th Wheel Maintenance

It has been a busy Week Performing Maintenance on My Jayco Designer 5th wheel and making a few adjustments. A couple of weeks ago I had new tires put on the fiver Replacing the Marathon ST235/R80/16 Load Range D. I will never understand why Jayco put load range D tires on a 5th wheel of this size. Even not overloaded it was a poor choice for a company noted for a quality product. Anyway I replaced them with  Power King Tow Max ST235/R80/16 load range E. I know I know China Bombs and all that crap. Time will tell If it was a mistake. I always use ST tires on Trailers. Enough about Tires.

I have never had enough clearance between the Bed rails on my TV (Tow Vehicle) and the overhang belly of the 5th wheel. After discovering a couple of scratches in the belly and a 4 inch gouge in the metal I decided to do something about it. On the Jayco there are 3 holes in each of the spring hangers on the frame to adjust spring Height. The springs were in the Top Hole in the hangers. By moving the springs down one hole that raised the back of the trailer 1 1/2 inches. Then by Moving the King Pin down in the pin Box That raised the front 1 1/2 inches, making the trailer level. Still the clearance was not enough between the rails on the TV and the belly, So I raised the Reese hitch in the truck up 1 1/2 inches giving me clearance of 7 1/2 inches between the Rails on the TV and the belly of the 5th wheel. The front end sits a little high now when hooked to the truck. I will have to take the 5th wheel to a level parking lot and measure the frame to the ground at the front and rear of the trailer while the truck and trailer are on lever surface. I think that I am 1 to 1 1/2 inches high in the front. if over a inch I may have to flip the Axles or move the springs down to the bottom or last hole on the spring hangers. I don’t want to do that because of the stress on the hangers. I don’t want to flip the Axles because I just had them checked and aligned, but I may have to.

While I had the 5th wheel jacked up moving the springs down in the hangers I inspected all of the spring attachments and the equalizer for wear. There was none apparent and no plastic bushings or egg shaped holes. If and when I find wear I will replace all with a wet bolt kit. I also Gave the wheel bearing a shot of grease while turning the wheels.

I also installed a TPMS (Tire Pressure and Temperature Monitoring System) That x-defaultway I can keep my eye on the Tire Pressure and Temp,  while going down the road.  I also checked my batteries and the fluid level and all checked out OK. Need to Lube the slides and check all of the lights. All of the interior lights are now LED Lights which will save the batteries while dry camping. I still have to check the Onan Generator and maybe change the oil. The TV was serviced 2000 miles ago with oil, lube, fuel and oil filters  changed. Should be good to go. We are going to Take a short Trip to Nat Soo Pah RV and Mineral Hot Springs. It is 16 miles south of Twin Falls Idaho and three miles from Hollister Idaho just off of Hwy 93. We try to go there every year for 4th of July week end.

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in our Travel Trailer with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

