PC Tech: The Demise of a RV Forum

PC Tech: The Demise of a RV Forum.

A Few Weeks Ago I shut down RV Bloggers Forum Com. Many have asked, why I did that. For several years now I have operated a Forum for RV Bloggers and a Forum for Computer users. I shut down the Computer user forum a couple of years ago and the RV Bloggers Forum a couple of weeks ago, Both for the same reasons. My Forums were always free and Had no advertisements in them. I shut them down for the following reasons. A Lack of Interest, Lack of Participation in the Forums by Members, the Time Required to Maintain a Forum, and the Cost of Hosting. I felt it was no longer worth my time to try and Run and Maintain a Forum. I think many of the reasons for lack of interest was because of Social Networking and Hand Held I-pads, I-pods, Smart Phones,  and Portable Devices for the Internet. Most of those devices do not work real well to view a forum because of screen size.

It most certainly was not because of eye appeal and lack of forums or content. I know of several other forums that have shut down in the past month or two. RV Pics was one of those I was sorry to see go. I don’t think a Forum can exist very long without financial aid or advertisements. I doubt if I will start another forum anytime in the future. I maintain a couple of Blogsites and will be closing a couple of them down because of hosting costs. I will maintain my blogsites on Blogspot and wordpress com, as long as they remain free.

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

