Why I Switched to a Travel Trailer

As most of you who know me I have been RVing and Camping for 50 plus years. During that time I have owed all types of Tents, Trailers, PU Campers, Class A Mtr Homes, Diesel Pushers, and 5th Wheels. For the last 30 years I have had several Motor Homes and 5th wheel Trailers. I have several friends that have asked me why I traded my last 5th wheel trailer for a Travel Trailer. So what follows is my reasons for switching from various RV’s and finally to a Travel Trailer.

1. Motor Homes after having several of them class A’s and a Diesel Pusher and having traveled all over the USA, Parts of Canada and Mexico, I have come to the conclusion that they are expensive money pits. Yes we Enjoyed everyone of them. But sitting in the driveway 10 months out of the year and deteriorating Makes it not worth having. Maintenance, insurance, and having to tow another vehicle behind for shopping and transportation. are some of the reasons for selling and getting a 5th wheel Trailer.

2. 5th wheel Trailers. 5 of them in the last 40 years with a few motor homes at various times. Everyone of them were nice units and most had lots of room and cost 1/2 or less of what a motor home cost. Except for the Tow Vehicle Maintenance was nil. insurance was a lot cheaper too. and fuel mileage was more than double for any motor home that I had owned including smaller motor homes. Our last 5th wheel, was a Jayco Designer 35 foot Loaded with everything, But It was heavy and climbing the 2 sets of stairs to get to the Bedroom and Bathroom from outside and the narrow hallway was very hard for my DW who has a bad back. We traded it off and got a Dutchmen Denali TT.

3. Travel Trailers. This is the first one that we have had in about 40 years. Here is why I switched. It is only 29 feet useable and 33 feet 9 inches long overall. Everything is on one level. Rear Kitchen, Nice big HD TV, lots of room with the slide out. compact kitchen with lots of counter space. Lots of storage space. It is light weight and easy to tow with WD Hitch with sway control. Good fuel Mileage when towing even in the mountains. Nice full size queen bed. Bathroom dual access from bedroom or hallway. Large wardrobe in 2nd slide. Insurance cheaper than my 5th wheel. And last but not least, My wife Likes It, and it is Easy to get in and out of.

We will be using our TT for 4 to 6 months out of the year. We are snowbirds traveling to Arizona and Texas in the winter months. I will be doing a review of the TT and let you know What I find and how well the TT is working for us.

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in our Travel Trailer with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

