TV Mod Replace old Analog TV with New HDTV

My 1997 Georgie Boy Pursuit came with a small 19 inch Color TV Mounted in the Dash. Although it works I would have to use a Converter to enable me to get most of the stations from the air using a Antenna. Most TV stations Now Days are HDTV We do not use Satellite or Cable TV where we live. We get 30 or more channels from the air free. I decided to modify Our Motor Home and Install a HDTV Wide screen. Here is what I did.

1. I removed the Old Analog TV and the Shroud that covered it. about 20 screws Holding Shroud over TV.

Old Analog TV and Shroud Taken from Dash

 

 

 

 

 

 

Old Analog TV and Shroud Removed From Dash of Motor Home.

Old TV and Shroud Removed

How the Old TV and Shroud Looked before.

2. Cleaned out area where TV was and Made a Storage Box to store DVD Movies, Tapes, and Music. Put the Face on the storage box To hold the new Wide Screen HDTV, and installed a hinged Lid which will also hold a Clear TV Antenna.

DSCF00022

 

 

 

 

 

Building the Storage  Box

Storage Box

Storage Box is Made and ready for Removable Back and Hinged Lid. You can see under the dash with the removable back removed.

Hinged Lid

Storage Box with Hinged Lid to Hold Clear TV Antenna. TV Mount on Face Of Storage Box. I also have Access to wires and other things under dash Via Removable Back which slides up and out with Lid Raised. You can see Removable Back in the picture above.

3. Next I mounted the TV and Hooked it up.

HDTV Mounted

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mounted and ready to Turn it on! Lid is Down.

Success

Raised the Lid with Antenna and turned on TV. The TV working. Success.

4. Next I will get some Vinyl or some sort of material to cover the outside of the storage box To match or contrast with the Dashboard or Maybe I will stain it to match the Cabinets instead of the Dashboard. Not sure which at this time. I also added a Splitter to the Antenna Lead so that it can be hooked to the Batwing Antenna and Amplifier. So Far the Clear TV Antenna Has worked well and has pulled in 30 Plus stations in Town.

DSCF00033

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Covered the Storage Box with Fake Leather.

I just have the Trim on the sides left to do.

Mel

 

 

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

