RV Cooking in a Small Space

One of the things my Wife did not like when we got our latest Older Motor Home was the fact that there was no Counter space and the kitchen was very small.

 

My Wife likes to cook, and she cooks large well balanced meals. Hmm scratching my head what to do. I had been watching advertisments on TV for something called a PIC portable induction cooktop by Nuwave. Note the word (portable). Hmm, I wonder if this would be something DW  could Use. Instead of the Propane stove. I figured that this would be great especially when it is hot outside and we would not have to use propane. I decided to try this new to me Induction cooking. The special said order one and get one free by paying shipping and handling for the second unit.

So my DW called and ordered the set pictured above. It arrived 2 weeks later and I decided to try one of the units out in the house before taking the other unit to the Motor Home. The first thing I found out is you need cook ware that is magnetic. You can test your cookware with a magnet. place the magnet on the bottom of the pot or pan and if it does not stick them you can’t use it for induction cooking. We found out that our cast iron cookware would work and also my wifes 50 year old set of rena ware would work. I wanted a spare set of Induction type cookware for the motor home so I started shopping. Ordered a set from overstock dot com only to find out that they were not induction cookware like their add said. I returned the set to them and am waiting for a refund, but that is another story. I finally found a set of all places at J C Penney. We really love the set and and the candy apple red color, it works perfect, especially the ceramic no stick. word of caution you can’t use it in a dish washer. Hand wash only. it is a breeze to clean after cooking steaks or bacon in the frying pans. Just wipe out with a paper towel.

Above is a picture of the set that we bought from J C Penney Regular $280 for $99 on sale. It works great and after learning how to cook with the portable cook top. My dear wife uses it all of the time now. The unit is small enough to set on a table or on top of the cutting board on the stove in the motor home. It is very fast and we use it for every type of cooking soups, stews, bacon, eggs, steaks, slow cooking and many other dishes. Wish we had known about this a long time ago.

This is what one of the cook tops looks like. It has precise temperature control. I won’t go into all of the things you can do with it, because it would take a couple more pages. We like it and it is a good deal for us. Some cooks don’t like induction cooking, I guess they don’t want to learn, but it is no harder than using a Microwave, except that you can do more and it is faster.

A COUPLE OF THINGS TO NOTE:

Unless you have a generator or shore power you You can not use the unit as it requires electricity.

You need pots and pans that are magnetic for induction cooking.

any steel pot, cast iron, or one made for induction cooking will work.

Our set of Bella cookware is aluminum with a induction ready base.

If you lack counter space or want a fast easy way to cook in Your RV or home, This just might work for you.

One last thing. I am retired, I don’t work for any of the companies or products mentioned in this post.

Happy RVing

Mel

 

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in our Travel Trailer with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

One thought on “RV Cooking in a Small Space”

Leave a Reply

