RV Storage Couch Project

In our 1997 Motor Home, we needed more inside storage this is how I solved the problem. The couch in our Present Motor Home was uncomfortable because and you sank down in it so far, that it was hard to get back up once seated on it. I decided to kiIl two birds with one stone so to speak. I Removed the Jack Knife Bed Innards to make more storage and beef up the area that the cushions sat on. I made a storage compartment in the area where the Jack Knife innards were. What follows is the Modification I made to the couch to make it more comfortable, and for us and gain more storage.

The above Picture is the couch before I started.

The picture above is the Couch with the innards removed.

The picture above is the Innards of the couch. It was very easy to remove the innards as there were only 4 screws holding it to the couch frame.

In The picture above you can see the frame work that I made out of 2 x 4’s. I used corner braces on all corners for extra  strength.

the picture above shows the raised lid that covers the storage Area. The lid is 3/4th T & G Flooring. Extra strong and will support anything anyone would want to put on it. We had 3 people sitting on the couch today. Over 650 Lbs. I retained the seat belts so if someone wants to sit on the couch while travelling, seat belts are available.

The picture above shows the Lid down. The top of the lid is padded and covered with duck canvas cloth in a navy blue. I installed 4 gate type Hinges. The duck canvas cloth cover makes a nice touch.

The picture above is the couch with the cushions installed.

The total cost of the project for materials was $65 A few people have asked me what about a bed and what will it do to resale value. Here is my answer. In the past 35 years of RVing we have used a Sofa Bed or Jack Knife Bed one time for 2 grand children that were visiting. They could have slept on the dinette bed just as easy. So we have the couch or the dinette for any overnight guests. We are retired and we just don’t have overnight guests unless it is small  Grand Children. Resale Value, Are you kidding me on a 1997 Motor home? I could care less. The Motor home will probably outlast me.

Mel

 

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

