Upgraded To a Newer Motor Home.

After our last trip to Idaho and the problem that we had with the motor home I decided that maybe we should get a newer Motor home. To put the old 1997 Georgie Boy Pursuit in tip top shape would take at least another $8000 and no guarantee’s that would solve all of the problems. I could not see putting that much money in a older motor home that would have over $25000 invested and would only be worth maybe $12000 to $15000 Better to lose $3000 to $5000 now, So we started looking for a newer model that would fit our modest needs. We don’t full time and don’t travel as much any more, But we do take long trips when we go. I did not want something big and fancy. I did want something that was still in production, in good mechanical shape and dependable. We finally found what we were looking for. It was a 2006 Four Winds Hurricane 31D With a Ford F-53 chassis and the Ford Triton V-10 Motor. 2 Slides, 2 AC, and a 3000 Watt Inverter with 4ea 6 volt batteries. Great for Camping and Boon Docking with no hookups. Length is 32 feet so no problem or limitations for staying in State and National parks which are cheaper than most Commercial RV parks. I made what I consider a Great deal and got the unit at a very fair price Lower than several others of the same make and model that we looked at. I lost about $4500 on my trade in, but made it up on the great price that I paid for the Hurricane. It is roomy for a 32 footer with the 2 living room slides extended, and DW loves the layout. With the V-10 Triton engine It should pull my Toad (Jeep Liberty) with no problem. The coach does have a Aluminum Frame. Below is a link to more pictures. I can’t hardly wait to pick it up on Tuesday.

We are proud Owners. More Pictures Here

 Mel

 

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

2 thoughts on “Upgraded To a Newer Motor Home.”

    1. Thank You. I think we will enjoy this one much more and it will be better for Boon Docking and camping in many of the older smaller camp sites.

Leave a Reply

