Samson Tires for my Motor Home and Tire Dealers

The New to me Four Winds Hurricane 31D that I just purchased, needed new tires. The tires on it were 10 years old and weather checked. I won’t drive on tires that are more than 5 to 7 years old, especially on a motor home. The old tires were Goodyear G670’s 245/70R19.5 They are expensive at around $500 to $600 installed. I decided that I needed something less expensive and started looking around for some new tires that would work for me.

After much research, Procrastination, advice, and other things I decided to try the Samson Gl283A 245/70R19.5 tires on my new to me 2006 Hurricane. Yes they are made in China, and so is most of the tires you can buy today. It says right on the tires the name of the factory that makes them in china. They cost me $1,209.00 for 6 of them Installed, Fed and sales tax, and the front wheels balanced. Did not balance the rear duals. If I find it necessary, then I will have it done or else use beads. I like the 5 rib tread design. It looks much like the design on a more expensive tire. I was worried that the ride might be a little harsh because of H (16 ply rated), But so far that has not proven to be true. The ride so far is smoother than the ride with the Goodyear G670’s that came off. So far I am real pleased with the results. Only time will tell.

While the tires were being put on, I had to tell the tire people not to use a impact wrench on the wheel liners to get them off. I have a special wrench to remove the chrome nuts that hold the wheel liner on the rim. I don’t know why I have to tell them how to do it. Another tire shop Used a impact wrench on previous Motor Home that I had, and it cost them $179 for a lost liner and the damage to another liner. You would think that they would Know better. Using the Load and inflation charts for this size tire and my axle weights, I am running 85 Lbs PSI in all tires. I will have to experiment a little to get it just right. I can’t go lower than 80 Lbs Psi without damaging the tires. So far the handling and ride is great coming home from the tire shop in heavy traffic. I will be taking it on the freeway in a couple of days to see how it handles at freeway speeds.

Update

Today I went to check tire pressure in the rear duals and found that the tire shop had put short 1 1/2 inch long metal valve stems on the inner duals. No way in hell could I get in to remove the valve caps much less air the tire if needed. I told the tire shop yesterday I wanted long Curved Stems for the inner dual tires. Back to the tire shop again today. I had them remove the tires on the rear and install curved metal valve stems on the inner Dual Wheels. While they had the tires off I had them balance the rear duals for $18 a tire which came to $76 including tax. I don’t know what it is with Tire shops and motor homes, but it appears they are not very knowledgeable about installing tires on motor homes, or else they just don’t give a SH_T or are to lazy to do it right. You have to stand there and watch every move and then they tell you to wait outside or in the waiting room so you can’t see what they are doing. The manager told me 3 times to wait outside. I stood in the doorway and watched. I caught the person doing the wheel balance on the last tire that was still 1/2 Oz out of balance try to sneak it by. I called them on it and made them do it right. This was at a truck tire shop. Everything appears to be OK now and I am a Happy Camper. will have to wait and see How well the tires perform. I have a couple of Mods I want to Make Needed or Not. a rear track bar. The front already has one. the CHF (cheap handling fix) to maybe stiffen roll and sway. and replace the front TV with a 32 inch HDTV. But that is a story for another time.

Mel

Here is what the metal Valve stem looks like for the inner dual tire. Mine is the first one on the left.

 

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

2 thoughts on “Samson Tires for my Motor Home and Tire Dealers”

  1. A few weeks ago I had six Samson GL283A 8R19.5 tires installed plus a spare. I paid $1100 total installed and balanced. I asked that they all be inflated to 90 psi even though my 34 ft diesel pusher specifies 80 psi. The tires have a max of 110 psi. This is a standard light truck size used on light to medium weight motorhomes built in the 1990’s, from what I am able to find.

    Anyway, my concern is that on the highway in summer weather at about 85F temperature, the pressure goes up 12 lbs to 102 psi. Is this normal? It seems like a lot to me. I am concerned that there may be an excessive amount of rolling friction. But if it’s normal, I can live with it.

    The handling is OK. The tread depth is a generous 16/32 in. But the temp rise bothers me.

    1. It is normal for the pressure to increase when it is hot. I would not worry about it. I have over 4000 miles on mine now in mostly summer driving in all temps and weather. I run 90 Lbs in mine and don’t worry about High Temps or High Pressure. I make sure I am not under inflated. Low tire pressure is the big enemy.
      Mel

Leave a Reply

