Latest TV Mod to my 2006 Hurricane Motor Home

Well the Old TV that came with my Motor home was a RCA 20 inch Analog that fit in a 21 X 18 inch space in the center above the dash. I figured it was time to get a more modern Bigger wide screen TV. I chose a 32 inch LED HDTV with a Tilting TV wall mount. The first thing was to remove the old TV.

770x574

They really put that sucker in there. I had to remove the bottom of the cabinet that holds the TV by removing some leather snaps that had 4 screws under the snaps to remove the bottom of the cabinet. Now the fun began. The TV sat on a aluminum plate and was secured with a series of aluminum bars and steel cables. I finally found the nut on the cable that went over the top of the TV and two screws in the bottom plate securing the TV to it along with the cables. It still would not come out of the cabinet. I discovered that the bottom aluminum plate had elongated slots on each side securing it to a aluminum frame. I loosened the nuts on each side dropping the bottom plate about 1 inch. it was just enough to tilt the TV and lift it out and set it on the kitchen counter. Now to remove most of the guts and aluminum bottom plat in the cabinet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Old TV on Counter after removal.

Cabinet with TV removed

Now I needed to remove the aluminum Bottom Plate and some cables and other things from the cabinet and add a piece of plywood 24 X 16 inches to mount the TV wall mount on.

Here is a picture of all that was removed along with the TV. It is all setting out side now. Next is to secure the Plywood to the cabinet and attach the Tilting Wall Mount to the Plywood face and the TV.

I lined the bottom of the cabinet with some left over carpet that I had. I then attached the plywood and TV wall mount. Hung the TV and attached the cables for VCR, DVD Player, and Power to a Wineguard Control panel. I now have a nice storage compartment under the TV for remotes, Maps, Papers and other stuff. Hooked it all up and all is good.

TV working with Closed Caption and after setup I have 33 HDTV channels and 1 Analog channel, working off of the Batwing Antenna.

More mods to come next week.

 

 

 

 

 

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

2 thoughts on “Latest TV Mod to my 2006 Hurricane Motor Home”

    1. Actually this is the 3rd one I have done. One in a previous Motor home and one in a 5th wheel. Really not to hard to do and can be done in most cases with simple hand tools. The one that was a chore was in the Previous motor home that I had. The details are in my Blog
      Mel

Leave a Reply

