Added a Battery Maintainer

After the TV Mod I decided that I needed a Battery Maintainer for the chassis battery when the Motor home is parked for long periods and not being used. The chassis battery is only charged when the motor is running and will run down when parked for long periods because of the different things that the chassis battery runs (Steps, Some Lights and fans as well as other things) when motor home is parked.The Motor home does have a disconnect switch for the Coach and the chassis batteries. but there is still a residual action that will discharge the chassis battery over time. I like to keep my Chassis battery at peek charge at all times. Several years ago I bought a cheap Battery Maintainer from Walmart for $18 and installed it in a previous motor home. This is the 3rd Motor Home I have installed it in. The problem was Where to put it, and still be close to the chassis battery and a 110 volt outlet. I also wanted it out of the way.

I found the perfect spot under the dash on the left of the passenger side. There was a 110V outlet and room to mount it up out of the way and run a wire to the Battery by drilling a 1/2 inch hole in the side wall and running the wire encased in wire loom through engine compartment to the front of the coach were the battery is ahead of and to the left of the radiator, hooked it to the battery direct. I used a piece of plumbers metal Tape and 2 self tapping metal screws to affix it to the firewall. Plugged it in and it is good to go. It has 3 Lights, Red, Green, and Yellow. Red is Battery No AC or problem with Battery, Green tells when Battery Is fully Charged and maintaining. Yellow tells you when it is charging. I have it on when ever plugged into shore power. Keeps my Chassis starting battery in good shape and always charged. See picture below.

 

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

