Sway Bar Modification or CHF (Cheap Handling Fix)

Since getting this new to us Four Winds Hurricane 31D I noticed that it sways or tilts more than I like when going around corners and in some cross winds. I stumbled upon this in one of the RV forums that I am a member of. The F-53 Ford chassis used on many Motor Homes has this problem. Although my Motor Home has front and rear sway bars and a panhard bar (track Bar) in the front. I felt there was more that I could do to make the ride more comfortable. I decided to do the CHF (cheap handling fix) which would only take an hour of my time. The fix is to move the downlinks attached to the sway bar to the second hole in the sway bar to the rear. Once moved torque them to 65 lbs and put a little Blue lock tight on the threads. Below are some pictures. I did have to use a Bottle jack to raise the front sway bar up about a inch so the bolt holes would line up. The back sway bar was about the same except there was 2 bolts on each side of the sway bar instead of one. Just reverse the bolt holder and move the link to the rear hole.

Passenger side front

Drivers side front

Track Bar in front

 

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

