Dash Cam for Motor Home

After a close call with a car that cut in front of me that I missed hitting by inches, I decided it was time to install a Dash Cam looking out the front windshield of the motor home. I wanted one that would run in a continuous loop with plenty of capacity and no batteries to replace. I did not want to spend a fortune on one, but wanted one that had good resolution and a G Impact sensor with a USB, HDMI, And memory slot. I finally chose a Black Box G1W-CB from Amazon for $58 Using prime it was here in 2 days.

This is what came in the kit. I also ordered a 32 GB mini memory card. Next was where to install it. Because it has no batteries it has to have a constant 5 Volt to operate. So I ordered a 12 volt to 5 volt battery adapter with a mini usb connector for the camera. I could have used the Cigarette lighter Adapter that came with it, but did not want a bunch of wires hanging down and blocking my vision. I could also mount it at the bottom of the windshield, but I have a very wide dash and did not want to run wires across it. I decided to hard wire the camera and mount it under the overhead cabinet on the drivers side. I needed a smooth surface to attach it too, using the suction cup mount that came in the kit. I solved the problem by sandwiching 2 pieces of Lexan together for strength, and mounting it on the underside of the overhead cabinet on the drivers side. see picture below.

Camera mounted on the Lexan piece installed on overhead cabinet With power wire wire coming through hole I drilled in back of the cabinet on drivers side.

 

 

 

 

 

Picture above is the Map light and speaker enclosure on the left drivers side. I removed the speaker so I could snake power wires from the map light around behind the overhead cabinet to the TV cavity and the battery adapter for the Camera.

This is the  TV cavity in the center of the overhead cabinets, with the LED 32 inch TV removed. You can see the switch and the red and black wire on the left in the TV Cavity. I drilled two holes in the aluminum structure on the left for a switch and a fuse holder. I wanted protection for the camera from stray currents so I installed a fuse holder with a 1.5 amp fuse before the on off switch. I wanted a way to turn the camera off without having to be a gymnast to reach the camera while bending over the steering wheel and ducking under the overhead cabinet. I installed the on off switch in the Cavity, which I can reach from the shelf below the TV. the battery adapter should be here today and I will finish up the job.

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

3 thoughts on “Dash Cam for Motor Home”

    1. Will keep everyone posted. I have plugged it in and set it up the way I want it and added a 32 GB memory card. the picture is sharp and clear. With the HDMI port on it and the memory card, I can play it back through the TV When we stop somewhere for the night.. That way we can review the scenery that we seen going down the road. It has a 140 deg angle Lens. Don’t know about the Night vision,but I don’t drive to often at night anyways.

Leave a Reply

