Steer Safe and New Shocks on 4000 mile trip.

We just got home from a trip to Texas and Arizona. We covered about 4000 Miles all together with the motor home and jeep. I had a Steer Safe on a previous motor home and was thinking of getting one for my Present Hurricane Motor Home. I wanted to Put a few thousand miles on the motor home without a Steer Safe, and then have one installed to be able to tell the difference with one installed versus none installed. Since we were on the way from Texas to Arizona we would Pass through Deming New Mexico where the Manufacture of the Steer Safe is Located, and we were going to be there for a few days, I decided to visit the Steer Safe Factory. So we tied up for a couple of nights at the Little Vineyard RV Park just a couple of miles from the Steer Safe Factory. I went to the Factory the second day that we were in Deming, I made an appointment to have a Steer Safe installed the next morning at 8:00 am when we would be leaving on our journey to Arizona. Installation is free at the steer Safe factory, and only takes about 20 minutes.

The Next morning I arrived a little after 8:00 at the factory which is a Family Owned Company in a large Garage and Office. this is Where they make and install the Steer Safe and many other products for the Ford F series chassis. I pulled my motor home on a concrete pad, and did not even have to unhook my Jeep for them to install the Steer Safe. Two installers went to work installing the Steer Safe. While we were there, I noticed they had a Lot of Bilstein Shocks in stock. I asked if they sold and installed them. They said yes and gave me a price. I had a rear Bilstein shock that was leaking and with 60,000 Miles on them decided to replace all 4. They said it would take about an hour, but I would have to unhook the Jeep. I unhooked the Jeep, and the wife and I went to Breakfast while they were doing the shocks. When we returned they had my motor home all finished and ready to go. Fast excellent service and nice friendly people. What a pleasure to do business with and the price was several hundred dollars cheaper than any place else that I checked for the same products and service.

Wow what a difference in handling. The I-10 through Texas, New Mexico, and Arizona was rough and rutted. But the Steer Safe held the motor home straight and true without correcting every second like before I had the Steer Safe installed. The shocks seemed to smooth out the ride and sway a little bit, But the Steer Safe really shined on the rutted highway. I now have 1,600 miles of driving with the Steer Safe and the new Bilstein shocks. I am pleased with the results, even if it was an unplanned expenditure. Would I do it again. You Bet in a heart beat.

For those of you who have class A, class C, and heavy duty Trucks with Ford Chassis, You just may want to take a look at the Steer Safe. It afford safe handling in case of a Blow out which was the main reason for getting one. Protection for My Wife and I.

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

1 thought on “Steer Safe and New Shocks on 4000 mile trip.”

Leave a Reply

