Winter Doldrums

It is January 25th and we still have not been able to take the Motor Home and go to Warmer Climes. it is 21 Deg F outside right now and the Sun is shinning. I am starting to get very antsy and bored. I want to get in the Motor Home and Travel, but it is not to be. I had planned to hit the road south in late January, but looks like it will be the middle of Feb at the soonest. I can’t work outside with snow, rain, fog, and Ice, as well as the cold Temps. The Old Cushions and trim in the Motor Home were looking a bit ratty and worn, so I took them to the upholstery shop to get recovered. The picture below is how they looked Before.

Picture above is before I removed the Cushions. I am finding out that upholstery is not cheap. I got 3 bids and 2 of them were in the Thousand dollar range. I finally found a family business that does upholstery work part time. they all have regular full time jobs. They will cover the cushions and do the trim for under $600. They do good work and I have talked to some of their former customers and seen some of their work. I removed the cushions and trim, and took the whole works to the upholstery shop. The trim is held in place by L shaped or corner brackets whatever you prefer to call them. See picture below.

2
Ready to remove the trim.

Ready to remove the trim. You can see the brackets along the top trim fastening it to the back of the dinette. It will be the middle of February before they are done with the cushions and trim. about a 10 minute job to reinstall everything. I hope to go South by then. I have my fingers crossed. If not then it will be spring before we will be able to get away. I have a lot planned for this summer, but that is another story. At our age 77 and 78 you have to take advantage when you can. We are slowing down after 50 years of RVing and don’t go as much, but I still love the lifestyle.

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in our Travel Trailer with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

One thought on “Winter Doldrums”

Leave a Reply

