Steer Safe and Me

stl.JPGI’ve had several people ask me what a Steer Safe is and what it looks like, since writing a article about having one installed during a trip to Texas. Click Here So the following post is about my Experience with Steer Safe and why I Have it installed on My Motor Home. For those who don’t know Here is what a steer safe is according to the Manufacturer.

Steer Safe Steering Stabilizer is an invaluable tool for your motor home, 18 wheeler, and midsize 5th-wheel tow vehicle. Installed on the front end of these types of vehicles, it helps to ensure amazing control. With Steer Safe, you control the vehicle; it doesn’t control you.

Steer Safe helps protect you against front tire blowouts, potholes, soft shoulders, high winds, wandering, accidental encounters with curbs, and highway medians. It also helps reduce driver fatigue. Steer Safe is the best safety insurance for your vehicle, driver, and passengers.

Now that we have that little Tid Bit of info, we will get down to the why. Back in 1998 on a trip through New Mexico about 5 miles out of Lordsburg, NM on I-10 I had a Blowout at 65 MPH On the Front Passenger side of a 38 ft motor home. The Blown Tire took out the fender and wheel well as well as some wiring and other things. I was lucky that I didn’t roll and hit a bridge abutment just ahead. I managed to get it stopped before going over the edge. I traded the Motor Home off after that and bought a used one that had a Steer Safe installed. I liked it so much that I have had a Steer Safe installed on every motor home that I have owned since then. The main reason that I have a Steer Safe installed is in case of a Blowout and loss of control. If you are a DIYer, You can install it yourself with a few simple hand tools. Here is what it looks like installed on a Ford F-53 Chassis. It can be installed on most makes and models.

Passenger Side

Right Side

My Loved ones mean more to me than the cost of the Steer Safe and it is good insurance as well as better control on bad roads. Those of you who pull trailers and 5th wheels, might want to take a look at one for your Tow Vehicle.

Mel.

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

