Reflecting Back Over my many Years of Camping and RVing

Today when talking to my Sister about a camping spot that her and her husband just returned from In the Flaming Gorge area, I couldn’t help but reflect back over my 50 plus years of camping and RVing. It all started around 1964 or 65 when I had been out of the Army for a year. I was 24 years old and had a Wife and 2 children. I bought a Large Used Umbrella Tent (it was all we could afford at the time), and loaded it on top of a Volks wagon Bug. I loaded my Wife and 2 children along with my Sister and her Girlfriend in that little beetle and headed for Flaming Gorge on the Utah side about 200 miles from Ogden. I fished for the whole weekend, and we ate rainbow trout for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. Oh what a wonderful time. It was, toasting marshmallows over a open camp fire and frying fish. A couple of years later I bought a wrecked 13 ft Tear drop Trailer. I restored it and we used it for a couple of years when I sold it and got a El Dorado Pickup Camper. We spent many days and nights camping in that camper, and travelled all over the country with it. we went to Yellowstone, Disney Land, and on several camping and hunting trips.

Around 1976 I bought a Brand New El Dorado Sportsman Class C with a Dodge Engine. Made several Trips to Wyoming in the Wind River country and the Grand Tetons. I traded it off in 1980 and got a Chev Pickup and a 35 Ft Invader 5th wheel. in 83 I went through a divorce and I got bumped out of my job and transferred to Winnemucca, Nevada where I lived in the 5th wheel full time for awhile. I bought a home and sold the 5th wheel and got a old Windjammer 19 ft class a with a Chev 283 Engine. My new Wife (I was remarried),and I travelled all over the west on Vacations when we could get away from our jobs. Washington, Idaho, Montana, Utah, Oregon, and California. Lost the transmission on our first trip that my wife had ever taken in a motor home. we lost it in the John Day Wilderness area and towed it with a little 1980 Mazda Pickup to Burns Oregon where I dropped the transmission and took it to Bend Oregon and had it rebuilt. I bought a air tank, (to Blow out the cooler lines) a floor Jack and a case of transmission fluid at a surplus store across from where I had the tranny rebuilt on a Saturday. I had it back in the Windjammer by 6pm that evening and pulled out heading for Klamath falls Oregon, where we tied up for the night. (we both had to be back to work on Monday). My wife Knew then that I could handle anything that had to do with RVing.

We have RV’ed together now for 33 years. Since 1984 we have owned several Motor Homes and a couple of 5th Wheels and a Travel Trailer. We haven’t travelled much the past 3 years because of medical problems that my wife had. She is better now and I hope we will be able to travel again. We were Snow Birds going to a winter home in Yuma, Arizona for 20 years from 1994 until 2014. We sold our winter home in Yuma a couple of years ago. We figured we did not need it any more and that we could live in the motor Home when we went south for the winters. We Down sized after my wife’s illness and now have our present motor home, which works fine for us. I hope to get away for some short trips this summer and a trip to Arizona and Texas in the fall for a few months away from winter here in Utah.

I have had many wonderful years Camping and RVing (over 50 years all together). I hope to have another 5 or 10. I will keep on RVing as long as my health will let me and it is safe for me to do so.

Mel

 

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in our Travel Trailer with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

