Valve Stems, Tire Balancing Beads, and a Motor Home

84731n-valve.jpgTrying to check or air up the dual tires on my Motor Home, has always been a chore. I have a Thor Four Winds Hurricane 31D with a Ford F-53 Chassis with steel wheels, and wheel covers. I always had to take off the wheel covers to try and check the air pressure. Cut hands trying to get the valve caps off reaching through the wheel hand holes. What a chore it was.

The last time when I got new tires I paid $75 to have the rear duals balanced and longer metal valve stems installed so I could at least check the pressure and add air if needed. I still had the problem of trying to get the valve caps off especially trying to reach through the hand holes with the tire covers (Hub Caps) installed. I finally got some long 4 inch metal extensions for the inner wheels and a 1 inch metal extension for the outer wheels. That helped, but was not the ideal solution. It was still hard to get the air chuck (I have one made for dual tires) in the right position to add air to the tires. Because extensions have caused a lot of problems leaking coming loose, and I could not install the transmitters for my TPMS. (Tire Pressure Monitoring System) To be honest the Valve stem extensions scared me and without the TPMS I would not know if one came loose and the tire lost air and I ruined it running under inflated, or worse yet had a blow out doing thousands of dollars in damage or causing injuries. I finally decided to spend the money for a “Borg dually Valve stem Kit DL3FC” made for the Ford F-53 Motor Home chassis and steel wheels. They are not cheap $90 to $120 for the chrome ones depending on where you buy them, and another $20 per wheel to have them installed at a truck tire shop. The Kit comes with rubber boots or grommets, to stabilize the extra long metal stems for the inner wheel.

After I ordered them from Camping World, I found out that after they are installed, you can’t have the tires balanced on a spin balance machine.

So I started looking for alternatives such as a

Mechanical Device (Centramatic Balancers) Expensive,

    

Centramatic Steer            Centramatic Drive

Powder, Liquid, and Beads. After much reading and searching, I decided to get Tire Balancing Beads. Cost being a factor. There are several types and about 4 main distributors of the beads. I finally bought 6 bags of 10 oz Ceramic Beads with Filtered Valve Cores made by Checkered Flag.

Everything should be here in a week or 10 days. I bought the Valve Stem Kit from Camping World, and the Beads from Amazon. after I get everything installed I will post how it turns out. Now maybe I can use my Tire Pressure Monitoring System  again.

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in our Travel Trailer with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

