Dually Valve Stems and Balancing Beads UPDATE

DSCF0004.JPGAs Promised here is an Update on the Dually Valve stems and the Tire Balancing Beads I had installed on my Motor Home. In my last post I was waiting for the special Dually Valve Stems and the Balancing Beads that I ordered from Camping World and Amazon to get here. They arrived right on time.

I took my motor home to a Local OK Tire dealer That was less than a Mile from Home. I lucked out and got a Tire Man that had 14 years experience with various Truck Tire Companies. He was very Knowledgeable. The Directions that came with the Valve stems were not very clear because the picture for the Valve stems that I got did not look the same. We finally got it figured out and the stems installed along with the rubber grommets or boots for the long inner wheel stems. While the tires were being remounted I put a 10 Oz packet of beads in each tire. I also added the filtered valve cores that came with the balancing beads and the red valve caps that denote the tires have beads in them.That was much easier than pouring the beads through the stem. all of the lead wheel weights had to be removed from the wheels. The inside of the tires were wiped out with a clean dry rag, to insure that there was no moisture in the tires before adding the Beads. After the tires and wheels were installed on the motor home along with the wheel covers (Hub Caps), All I can say is WOW and double Wow. What a remarkable improvement. I can now install my TPMS transmitters and can air up the tires with any type of air chuck and I don’t have to remove the wheel covers to do it. See the Picture below after the installation. I don’t know about the balancing beads, as I have not had a chance to run the motor home out on the freeway yet.

I wish that I had done this earlier as it will be a great time saver and I won’t dread checking tire pressure or adding air. I think the reason many skip checking the pressure or adding air is because with many vehicles with dual wheels it is a real pain. It was not cheap the Dually Valve stems on special at Camping World cost me $90 normally they are $120 and the beads were $64 for 6 10 Oz bags. The labor mount and dismount and valve stem install was $20 a tire for a total of $80 The total cost to me was $234 and worth every penny to me. Much better than extensions although more money. BTW Borg Corp the Manufacturer of Dually Valve stem kits Guarantees No leaks and free repair or replacement if you have a leak. So Far I am Happy.

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in our Travel Trailer with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

