My Backup Camera and Monitor Installation

indasha.JPGI decided to install a new Backup TFT LCD Color Monitor and Camera For my Motor Home. The old in dash Voyager B&W monitor and camera were working OK, but I wanted to Jaz up my dash a little bit and have color. I bought a kit with a color TFT LCD Monitor, 18 LED infra red night Vision Camera and 15M (49ft) of waterproof cable and fittings The kit came with all hardware and a frame to mount it on any flat surface. I wanted to replace the old B&W Voyager which was mounted in the dash. The new monitor was a 7 inch TFT LCD. So it was smaller than the hole in the dash where the old voyager was. The hole was 7 3/4 x 5 3/4 inches and the new monitor was 7.0 x 4 5/8  inches Hmm what to do.

MAKING A TEMPLATE

I bought a one foot square piece of Oak plywood 1/4 inch thick. Cut it bigger than the hole in the dash and covered the hole from behind the dash, using 4 screws thru the face of the dash to hold the plywood in place. I then drew a line around the hole on the plywood so I would have a pattern to go by.

Oak Plywood Template

I then removed the template and set the monitor mounting frame on it centered, and drew a line around the frame on the plywood with a pencil on the inside of the frame so I would know were to cut so the frame would fit in the template to hold the monitor. I then reinstalled the template after painting it black and fastened it to the back of the dash. I now had a proper sized hole to slip the monitor frame in and then the monitor in the frame.

RUNNING the NEW CABLE

I spent a couple of days running a new cable from the old camera location to the new monitor. The old cable was hung up and I could not use it to pull the new cable in.I removed the center clearance light on the back and the clearance lite on the corner of the drivers side. Using a steel electricians fish tape I managed to fish a string from the center clearance light to the corner from there it was a straight shot to the under side of the motor home. I used the string to pull the new cable from underneath to the center clearance light where I was able to fish it down to the camera. Whew what a job and the worst part was laying on my back on the cement underneath the motor home fishing the new cable though wires, and frame with dirt falling in my eyes and grease grime, Using nylon wire ties every few feet to hold the cable in place. I then fished the new cable through the firewall which was a piece of cake after the previous.

INSTALLING the CAMERA

Next I installed the Camera using the old bracket because the new one would not line up with the holes to hold it to the motor home. I had trouble trying to hold the camera, line up the holes in the camera the mounting bracket and the sun shield while up on a 12 foot ladder. I needed about 4 more arms and hands. I was finally able to do it using a magnetic screw driver to hold the very tiny micro screws and all but standing on my head. I lost 2 screws but lucky I had 3 spares.

Camera finally installed. I still have to adjust the angle once the jeep is hooked up.

TESTING THE WIRING AND CABLE

Now it is time to hook up the cable connections and wiring at the dash.

I am testing the Camera and monitor before I solder the connections and use heat shrink. You can see the frame for the monitor mounted in the dash ready for the monitor. Everything tested OK so now I will put the monitor in the frame and see how everything looks.

INSTALL the MONITOR in DASH

Monitor is in dash and everything is working. Just have to button everything up and I am done with this project except for setting Camera angle when I hook the jeep up to the motor home. Another nice thing is the fact that this monitor has 2 video imputs so I can add a DVD player or another camera. The monitor also has a button to rotate the picture and set brightness and contrast. The picture is a High Resolution and pretty sharp. Not bad for less than $80 for everything.

Happy RVing

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

