New Captains and CoPilot Seats for my Motor Home

I’ve been looking for new Captains and CoPilot Chairs for my Motor Home. One of the chairs was missing a Arm when I bought the Motor Home. I tried salvage yards and RV dealers and parts houses to get a arm for the one that was missing. I really didn’t care if it matched or not. Well the upholstery was worn and the padding was sagging, so I thought I would investigate buying new chairs. No sense trying to have the seats recovered without a arm for the one missing.

The Present chairs are made by Flex Steel, and to replace would be very expensive, Almost $2000 with the shipping. So I started looking on the Internet when I ran across a place called “Shop4Seats” in California. The Price was right and they had a lot of good reviews. On Sept 21st 2016 I ordered 2 each captains chairs in a pattern called “Seville Captains Chair” and a material called “Regal Sandstone” I Ordered cloth material instead of leather or vinyl because they are to hot during the summer and cold during the winter. For $150 more for both chairs I ordered the 7 spring seat instead of the 5 spring. The chairs come with sliders and everything and a standard 11″ x 8″ bolt pattern. Ready to drop in your base or pedestal. It takes 6 weeks or a little more for Delivery. Each chair is custom built when ordered. Delivery is by Fed X. Yesterday my seats arrived.

I unpacked the chairs from the boxes and found that one arm for each chair was in the boxes not attached to the chairs. Guess they have to leave one arm off to fit box for shipping. (see picture)

arm is not attached and no hole in upholstery to insert arm. So I fired off a Email to Alec the salesman and chair expert Expressing my concern. He got right back to me with a Link to a video showing how to install the arm and the measurement of where to make the hole with a razor blade or knife in the upholstery. It was very simple and the video was tops. Here is a link to the Video CLICK HERE so I installed the arms and the seats on the pedestals this morning. There are 4 nuts under each seat that you remove and the chair lifts right off. Dropped the new chairs in place and installed the 4 nuts using 1/2 inch deep well socket and ratchet. Below are pictures after the installation.

Both Captain and CoPilot Chairs installed. Chairs turned facing living room. I am happy and the CoPilot is happy and that is all that counts.

Not bad for 2 hours work and $946 including shipping and handling. the chairs were $748 the extra 7 spring seats was $150 and the shipping was $58 The cloth material is heavy duty and should hold up well. DW will Scotch Guard them, so will be easy to clean. The back of each chair has a big pocket to hold Magazines, Maps or Atlas.

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a Reply

