Abask Dash Cam Mini Review

Abask Dash Cam Mini Review

After my last post about “Why You Need a Dash Cam” I decided to get one Like what my Son has, a ABASK Dash Cam, Abask 4″ IPS FHD 1080p 170 + 120 Degree Wide Angle Dual Lens Car DVR Camera With Loop Recording G-Sensor Parking Monitor 6-Glass Lens Motion Detection WDR Night Vision Time-off Screen, with front and rear camera. After using it in my Jeep for a couple of weeks, Here is my experience with it.

First the Pro’s

Large 4 inch screen. Much better than the 2.7 inch that my other dash cam has.

Excellent picture quality in daylight and at night.

Excellent on screen menu easy to see.

You can set time to turn of screen 30 sec, 1 min, 3 min.

Loaded with Many Features, to numerous to mention.

Excellent playback on TV or Computer.

Can mark a segment for viewing later and it won’t be over written.

Now for the Cons

As soon as I opened the package I dropped the camera about 3 inches on the top of my desk. The Screen bezel came loose allowing the camera to open up exposing the innards and let the screen to hang by its wires. Lucky Nothing broke. I spent 30 minutes getting it back together.

Kind of flimsy built.

The Manual that came with it, is crap. The print is so small you need a magnifying glass to read.

Many Mistakes in the manual Identifying the various parts of the camera. I copied and enlarged the manual and corrected the mistakes while putting it in PDF format.

It does not come with a Micro SD TF card, You have to buy one which adds another $15 or $20 to the $40 price I paid, making a total cost of $60 for a working unit.

Side Notes

All in All I am very pleased with the unit and for $60 it is cheap insurance. Time will tell how well it holds up. My Son has had his for 9 months and no problems. You can get a 3 year warranty from “Sguare Trade” for about $9. If your computer or TV, does not have a SD card reader, you can get a USB cable with a Mini end on it to plug into your computer or TV if it has a USB Slot. $12 at most electronic stores. This is not a comprehensive review, Many others have written a more comprehensive reviews about it. This mini review gives you an Idea about what to expect from the unit.

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. I love to travel in a Motor Home with my Wife. I am a avid RVer and like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot and hold a Novell Education certificate in Networking configuration and installation. I like to read and like country and western Music.

3 thoughts on “Abask Dash Cam Mini Review”

  1. Thanks for this post. PERHAPS, had we had one, we could have gotten the license plate number of the vehicle that trashed the highway and caused us two flats!!! We need to buy one….

    1. Yes it is one of my better investments. I had a small Car cut in front of me with traffic on both sides I braked hard and was barley able to keep from hitting him. I did not have a camera at the time. Had I hit him I would have been given a citation by local police because I had no proof that he cut me off. That is when I got a Camera for my Motor Home. The new Abask is better than the one I had for the motor home so I bought one for it too. Good insurance.
      Mel

Leave a Reply

