Why a Small Motor Home ?

Why A small motor Home, You ask? Many of my followers and friends have asked me why I got a small Motor Home. I ‘ve had many RV’s during the past 50 plus years of Camping and RVing. All types and sizes. some up to 40 ft in length. I’ve always prefered a Class “A” Motor Home. Well here are some of the reasons why I got my latest Motor Home. Which is a 2016 Thor Axis 24.1

  1. Small size, only 25 ft long. It is the smallest class A in the industry today.
  2. Sits Close to the ground. 9 inches from the ground to the first step to get into the Motor Home.
  3. The steps are inside when you open the door, There are only 2 steps to get inside. A large grab bar on one side which makes it Very easy to get into the Motor Home. No muddy rusty dirty steps to pull out in Bad weather.
  4. I Can get into almost any campground or camping spot. I Can park almost anywhere. No need to pull a Toad unless I want to.
  5. With the solar I installed We can dry camp for a week or more without hookups. That way we don’t have to pay the High Exorbitant Price for a spot in a RV Park or Campground.
  6. It’s Easy to setup, Can do everything from inside. no need to get out during bad weather
  7. Everything inside is accessable With the slide in while traveling or parked.
  8. While traveling down the road, the wife can use the bathroom or lay down on the couch Without me having to stop and unlock a trailer.
  9. Everything is accessable (see 7 above) with the slide in. I can stop at the side of the road and fix something to eat without leaving the Motor Home, or the wife can fix something while i’m driving down the road.
  10. Easy to drive and handle. Has side view and rear cameras. Large panoramic windshield.
  11. The Motor Home body is mounted on a Ford E350 Chassis. Easy to get parts almost anywhere.
  12. The Engine is a 6.8L Triton V10 engine, a 305 horsepower, 420 ft. -lb. torque behemoth. The Motor Home only weighs 12500 Lbs.
  13. Can tow up to 8000 Lbs.
  14. Gas milage while towing my Jeep TrailHawk is anywhere from 8 to 13 MPG which sure beats the 5 MPG that my other Motor Homes got.
  15. Powered Overhead Bunk in the cab that can be raised or lowered. The small grand kids would love this.
  16. Couch makes into a full queen size bed with air mattress.
  17. The Beds in the master bedroom can be 2 twin beds or one large king size bed.

We are in our eighties and the travel trailers and fifth wheels that we had were a chore to hook, unhook and setup, especially in bad weather. all were a pain to get out, unlock the door and go inside to fix something to eat, or to go to the bathroom, especially in bad weather. It was more trouble than it was worth. It just wasn’t feasible for us.

So you ask why? I went to a small Motor Home. The above are just some of the reasons we went to the small 2016 Thor Axis 24.1 Motor Home that I bought. At our age and what little we stay or travel with a RV anymore and the exorbitant price of RV parks, it was a easy way for us to go.

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. Our present RV is a 2016 Thor Axis 24.1 Motor Home. We really Like the floor plan and layout. It is ver compact at 25 ft and Ideal for dry camping. I like to work on RV's. I am a avid RVer and my Wife and I like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

4 thoughts on “Why a Small Motor Home ?”

  1. Hi Mel,
    On my 6th rig right now. I upgrade every 5 years that way I don’t lose any money. I grew up in the RV Industry my father owned a dealership in the 70’s.
    Winnebago, Beachcraft, Champion, Tioga, Hop Cap, Mallard, I have driven many. I also would never go over 25′ for a lot of your same reasons. I did purchase a 2017 24.1 New, our family loved it and the memories were amazing. I have since sold and moved into a 2022 Winnebago View 24V I purchased new, same floor plan as the Axis 24.1. The View is by far the best rig ever in the price and size market. Over a year and a half now and not one issue. I carry an 11 in 1 screwdriver as my tools now not my whole tool box. If you ever feel like you want to upgrade the View is worth a look it is by far 100% more enjoyable than out Axis and we Love RVing again!!!! Love your blog!!

    1. at 85 years of age I doubt if I’ll ever get another Motor Home. If I was considering one I would look at the view. However we are very happy with the axis and have had no problems with it. We bought it used so any problems were taken car of by the previous owner.
      Mel

  2. Considering the same. Questions: How much did you pay? Was it all original? What did you repair, maintain or replace after you looked it over and took it home? Any repair surprises? Private 0wner or dealer? Did you have it inspected by a certified inspector or were you confident about your own skills of observation and investigation? Toad or no Toad? Why?

    1. I purchased the axis Used For 50K It was all original I have not had to replace or repair anything. I did install 400 watts of solar for dry camping. After 50 plus years of camping and rving in all types and sizes I feel very confident to do my own inspection. I have a 2007 Honda CR-V to tow behind the motor home. I also have a 2021 Grand Cherokee Summit which could also be flat towed. If we are going to camp for 1 or 2 days no need for a toad, but if we are going on a trip out of town then I will pull a toad for emergancys or shopping although the motor home is small enough to go shopping with, But that would necessitate breaking camp. So for use a toad is more practical.
      Mel

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from RV Bloggers

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading