I Added a Wireless Backup Camera to my Travel Trailer

I added a RV Backup Camera Wireless HD 1080P with 7 Inch Monitor. It is a 4 Channel System with IR Night Vision, for my Travel Trailer. It will support 4 cameras. Got it off Amazon for $80. It works great with a color monitor. I got it to help me when backing up the trailer into a camping spot. It will come in real handy especially if I’m alone. The Camera and monitor kit came with everything That is needed for a simple install.

I installed the Camera on the back of the Travel Trailer about 4 inches below the center clearance light.

 

I drilled a 1/2 inch hole below the center clearance light. I removed the clearance light and fished a wire from the camera up to the clearance light and spliced the wires into the clearance light wires following correct polarity Positive and negative wires. I then mounted the camera bracket using sheet metal screws and sealed everything with a rv clear sealer.

Camera is installed and ready to test. Incase you are wondering why I used the center clearance light location to Position the Camera and hook up the camera wires, Here is why.

  1. By putting the camera just below the Middle clearance light, The camera sits up high to give me a clear view of whats behind me.
  2. It also give me a source for the 12 volts that the camera needs to operate.
  3. It also makes it harder for a thief to steal the camera.
  4. Since my clearance lights are always on, when the trailer is hooked to the tow vehicle, I don’t have to worry about turning the camera on.
  5. While driving I always know what is behind me.

This is the 7 inch color monitor that will sit somewhere in or on my Dash. Itwill mount to the winshield if needed. I haven’t decided yet.

Tenative Location for the monitor. All in all a great buy and easy installation. It works great. Now maybe I won’t hit the nieghbors fence when backing up. LoL!

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. Our present RV is a 2016 Thor Axis 24.1 Motor Home. We really Like the floor plan and layout. It is ver compact at 25 ft and Ideal for dry camping. I like to work on RV's. I am a avid RVer and my Wife and I like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from RV Bloggers

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading