Added a Brake System for my Towed Jeep

Over the years I’ve had several different Brake Systems for my Towed vehicles. I’ve had permanently installed ones and those that were portable. The permanent onesa were nice, but if I sold the vehicle or got another one then I would have to get another brake system, so a portable one would work better for me. I tried several different ones and although all of them did the job, most were a pain to install and set up. I happened to find a different one that a man had bought and never used. It was still in the box and had never been opened or used. It was a RVI3 and they sell for $1,595 He needed to sell it because he was no longer RVing and had sold his motor home. I paid cash and got it for $700 less than what I would have had to pay a dealer for it.

Here are some of the particulars on the unit that I bought from him.

Here is a picture above of the portable RVI3 Brake unit.

RVI Brake RVibrake3 Flat Towing Braking System Made in USA The RVibrake3 is an easy-to-use, towed vehicle braking system that requires no wiring, installation, or lengthy set-up before you can tow. Inertia-activated RVibrake3 brakes your towed car proportionally and requires no wiring or installation in your motorhome. Everything is done through the unique brake unit in the towed vehicle.

It was a simple install I had to run the cable for the brakaway switch which I had done when I installed the base plates for the jeep.

Breakaway Cable routed from the front of the jeep under the dash to the RVI3 Brake unit.

Breakaway swith to the right of the license plate.

RVI3 portable brake unit installed. You can see the Bracket at the rear of the unit installed to the floor pan by 4 self tapping screws. It’s not needed in most cases but was a simple matter to install after removing the floor mat. Less than a minute to install in jeep. Here is how to do it.

NR1. Place unit in the Jeep. position and place clevis on brake pedal. use universal stop plate if required. 2. hook breakaway cable to unit. 3 hook power cable to AUX 12 volt power. 4. press button on side of unit. This will position and bleed air from jeep brake vacume unit. Your all set. My unit has the optional tablet control center mounted in the motor home that tells you that the unit is working and gives you control from the motor home.

Control center Tablet That I mount in the motor home in front of the driver. The case that RVI wants to sell you for $50 is nothing more than a cloth cover. So i bought a Hard water proof case that is lined with sponge rubber to carry and protect the unit when not using it or when it is stored.

Carrying casae that I bought from Haror Frieght for $40

TECH SPECS:

Weight: 10 lbs
Dimensions: 15″ x 12″ x 4″
Reaction Time: 0.5 seconds
Daily Setup Time: 30 seconds
Installation Time: The only thing that has to be installed is the Breakaway. It takes 25-45 min.
Power: 12V DC, 8 amps max draw
Vehicle Types: We guarantee fit in any towed vehicle. 5-10% of towed vehicles require hardware we provide for FREE.
In the Box: RVibrake3 • Command Center System • Breakaway • Universal Stop Plate(For 5-10% of towed vehicles)
Warranty: 3-years

Here is how it works. RVibrake3 is activated by the same force that draws your chest forward in a braking, called inertia. An accelerometer in the brake measures these changes and knows when to push softer or harder on the brake pedal, keeping your brake pads from having excessive wear. I will keep everone posted as to how well it works.

Mel

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. Our present RV is a 2016 Thor Axis 24.1 Motor Home. We really Like the floor plan and layout. It is ver compact at 25 ft and Ideal for dry camping. I like to work on RV's. I am a avid RVer and my Wife and I like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

One thought on “Added a Brake System for my Towed Jeep”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from RV Bloggers

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading