Added Struts to Under Bed Storage

The lid for my under bed storage compartment did not have any struts to help lift it up. with the new Cool Gel Memory Foam Mattress it was just to heavy to try and lift and hold it up with one hand while getting something out or putting something in. The old mattress was a Stuffed Cotton Rag and did not weigh very much. Thats why no struts. So I decided to add struts.

New Cool Gel Memory Foam Mattress now to add some 67Lb struts.

With the bed lid propped up I install the strut bottom bracked to the bed frame using 2 1/2 half wood screws at the bottom of the strut. now to add the top strut bracket to the lid.

I drilled two holes through the 3/8 thick Lid and attached the top strut braket with 1/4th inch bolts 1 inch long. secured with nuts and lock washers.

I took Gorilla Tape and put it over the bolt heads so they would not mark or tear the mattress.

All done and now the lid is easy to lift while getting things out or putting things in the storage under the bed. It was a easy project and cost less than $25

Until My next Mod or Project, Happy RVing!

Mel

 

Author: Mel

I am a Retired PC Tech. Our present RV is a 2016 Thor Axis 24.1 Motor Home. We really Like the floor plan and layout. It is ver compact at 25 ft and Ideal for dry camping. I like to work on RV's. I am a avid RVer and my Wife and I like to camp and travel. I am a commercial Pilot. I like to read and like country and western Music.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from RV Bloggers

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading